University of Milan

The University of Milan (Italian: Università degli Studi di Milano), in short UNIMI, is a public research university in Milan, Italy. It is one of the largest universities in Europe, with about 60,000 students, and a permanent teaching and research staff of about 2,000.

The University of Milan has ten schools and offers 140 undergraduate and graduate degree programmes, 32 Doctoral Schools and 65+ Specialization Schools. The University's research and teaching activities have grown over the years and have received important international recognitions.

The University is the only Italian member of the League of European Research Universities (LERU), a group of twenty-one research-intensive European Universities. It consistently ranks as first university in Italy (ARWU) sharing the place with University of Pisa and Sapienza University of Rome, and is also one of the best universities of Italy, both overall and in specific subject areas in other ranking systems.

The university has been frequented by many notable alumni, including one Nobel laureate in physics, Riccardo Giacconi,one Fields medalist, Enrico Bombieri,as well as the former Prime Ministers Silvio Berlusconi and Bettino Craxi. The university has also been affiliated with notable faculty such as the Nobel Laureate in chemistry Giulio Natta,and the Wolf Prize in Physics Giuseppe Occhialini.